Trusting to Hope

Mount of Blessing, Israel

From my series on trust, I find myself being led to the concept of hope. It has been a battle, though, as I try to reconcile that oft quoted verse in Romans 5:5 where it says that hope doesn’t disappoint.

I know the bible to be true and stand by its veracity, and its application to my life. That is the only thing standing in between me taking up a pair of scissors and redesigning that part of my precious scriptures. I’m sure tomes have been written on Proverbs 13:12, “Hope deferred makes the heart-sick, but when longing is fulfilled, it is a tree of life.” But what happens when you seem to be stuck in the land of the deferment of hope?

As I pondered this, I sense the Lord pressing a bit on the issue. Laughing in the face of the Creator is not polite, but it was an instinctual reaction, and He’s still cleaning me up, in many ways. I realize that I can dodge the issue, which, to be honest, I have been for several months, but He has His own plans and purposes that rarely seem to match ours. So here I go, down this journey. And as I started to really focus, I realized that hope never seems to let its light flicker out. In another entry I wrote years ago, oddly enough, Trust to Hope, I commented about hope, “… the heart was fashioned to always hope – it always has to hope in something. And it has an amazing amnesia of what happened to hope the time before.”

Hmm. Hope – it is infinitely more than wishful thinking, but rather, a confident expectation. Hope remains, in some way, form, or fashion, always. 1 Corinthians 13:13: “Now these three remain, faith, hope, and love. But the greatest of these is love.” Hope is one of the three that remain, a light that refuses to be put out. And so begins this next adventure

3 thoughts on “Trusting to Hope

  1. Boker tov! I love your blogpost. Proverbs 13:12 has been one my life verses. And even when the 1st half is in my face, my heart and mind is often drawn to focus on the 2nd half, trusting Abba in it. I find if I step back some, I can see the 2nd half in life through the lens of trust, and then I hear myself saying “Oh, there it is, a tree of life, it’s been there all along.” Sometimes I see it, and sometimes I miss it. Then sometimes I find my longing adjusts and is fulfilled different than I thought it would be. I’m seeing it more when I allow Ruah to show me. Abba is blessing you sweet friend. You’re precious in His eyes.

Leave a Reply: Insults and diatribes will be universally ignored. Thank you for playing!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.